A century old home to reminisce the glorious history of Karachi has been renovated under the Dawood Foundation called TDF Ghar. Built under an almond tree in the 1930, it’s located in the heart of Jamshed Quarters at MA Jinnah Road. It’s the first dedicated cooperative residential area for middle-class in Karachi, developed by Jamshed Nusserwanjee in 1922.
Once home to multiple ethnicities including Muslims, Hindus, Christians, Parsis and Jews, the Haveli served as a religious community center. This is reminiscent of the city’s diversity and inter-faith harmony.
Hanifabai Haji Gani, acquired the house for her daughter, Aisha Bai Dawood to reside there. The house was sold to her by its original owner, a Hindu woman, Haribai Motiram in June 1948. It was deserted until Dawood Foundation took the initiative of transforming it and converting it into a public space.
The house is preserved in a way that it retains most of the architectural features rendering a feel of pre-independence citizen’s lifestyle.
TDF Ghar’s living room being used as a museum is the main attraction where antique artifacts and collectables dating back to 1930s are displayed. Bentwood furniture, Anglo-Indian vanity dressing, marble stone and wooden chess sets, gramophone, typewriter, trunk, law books, old retro phones and a glass cupboard with fine china – these items are a reflection of the lifestyle of people living in the old Karachi. This heritage building is no less than a Paradise for heritage lovers as it teleports you into a Karachi that once was.
Painted in yellow with stained glass windows, old mosaic tiles, high ceiling fans, chandeliers hanging, the heritage building has a story to tell and connects the visitors to a rich and vibrant history of Karachi.
In the Veranda, Sehan Café, with old Iranian bentwood chairs surrounded by plants and a champa flower tea welcome the visitors and offer them tea and snacks. Visitors can spend time at the café and socialize. Wifi and sockets on all floors are available for visitors to plug in their laptops.
The rooms on the first floor don’t have much to offer except for old wooden blank benches. However, the three Numaish Halls and training room open to the public can be utilized for organizing workshops, trainings, seminars, exhibitions, and other activities.
The rooftop of the house offers a breathtaking scenic view of Quaid’s mausoleum. Its’ walls are adorned with colorful mosaic tiles. One can enjoy the Karachi breeze and a cup of tea seated on the bentwood chairs with Quaid-e-Azam’s mazaar right infront of his eyes.