Shoaib Akhtar Slams ICC Over Biased Teams of the Decade List

On Sunday, December 27, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the Test, ODI and T20I team of the decade. Unfortunately, no cricketer from Pakistan was included in the list which infuriated several Pakistani cricketers including legends such as Shoaib Akhtar.

Shoaib Akhtar took to his YouTube channel to address the biased list. In a video where he slams the ICC, Shoaib Akther states “I think ICC has forgotten that Pakistan is also ICC’s member and plays cricket internationally. They missed out on an ace Pakistani batsman like Babar Azam who is already a top T20 batsman. They did not even include a single Pakistani player.”

“These people left because cricket was materialised. Why did you give permission to start 10 leagues? You gave permission in order to rake money out of cricket,” said Shoaib Akhtar.

According to many including Shoaib Akhtar, the country produced some of the finest cricketers during the decade and at least a couple of them deserved a place in different teams.

Furthermore, none of the Pakistan Women cricketers made it to the ODI and T20I team of the decade in Women’s cricket. Sana Mir became the number one in ICC ODI Women’s Rankings for bowlers in October 2018. Moreover, she played 120 ODIs and 106 T20Is for Pakistan picking 151 and 89 wickets respectively and yet she was not included in any of the teams.

Shoaib Akhtar concluded his video by saying that the purpose of the video was just to send ICC a reminder that they did not have to announce an IPL team while sidelining the world’s top cricket players like Baber Azam and Sana Mir.

About Us

Runway Pakistan is a complete solution provider for all your marketing communications related requirements. The ultimate hub of infotainment – Runway composes of all the key offerings – Monthly Print Magazine, Digital Magazine, Media Production, Creative Agency, PR Agency, and Marketing Consultancy that a brand needs to be seen, heard, and known!

Like and follow our Facebook page:
Runway Pakistan